2011: a year in review

4 Jan

2011 was a pretty huge year for the Whitbull.

Highlights included:

A big move — to Oregon

Tyler had been thinking about grad school for a while, so last winter he started studying for his GMAT, took it in the spring (and rocked it, I might add), and applied to Oregon’s Sports Business MBA program by the end of May. When he found out he got accepted in June, we had less than 2 months to prepare for our move to Eugene. We loaded up the Kia and set off across the country on an 11 day road trip, camping our way through Wisconsin, Minnesota, South Dakota, Montana, Wyoming, Idaho and Oregon. We made it without any major incidents (save for the almost-attack by Jersey the basset hound) and are settled in, have made great friends, and are generally enjoying life in Track Town, USA.

Taking in the Oregon coast

A new job

As much as I would love to be a stay-at-home-girlfriend, someone has to bring home the bacon ’round here, so when we arrived in Oregon (ok, like a month after), I set out on the job hunt. Everyone was telling me how dire the unemployment issue was here in Oregon, and especially Eugene, but I somehow lucked out and landed a social media/marketing position at a new LASIK practice. My co-workers are the nicest people and it is such a positive environment – a very welcome change from what I was used to.

An engagment!

By far the best thing to come out of 2011! Tyler popped the question on Christmas Day, surprising me at my parent’s house. We spent the next week in Wisconsin celebrating with friends and family. And the ring…ohh the ring. I swoon every time I look at it.

The best ring ever!

Bring it 2012!

Leave a Reply

