wtf wedding traditions: the cake smash

28 Feb

Before I even started wedding planning there were several things I knew were NOT going to happen at my wedding. In my new series wtf wedding traditions, I will highlight these items and explain why I will not be doing them. Probably in  an abrasive manner. Sorry ’bout it.

First and foremost  on my list is the cake smash. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, this is what it looks like:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image via Weddingbee

Now, I don’t even know if we will have a cake (Tyler is in charge of the desserts), so this may be like a cow’s opinion, but the whole idea that you SMASH FOOD in your new husband/wife’s face seems like the dumbest thing ever to me. Where did this start? And why? And who does it? And dear God why?? It’s not cute. It’s not sweet. It is, I feel, immature, cringe-worthy, and kind of disrespectful.

If I am looking fabulous in my wedding dress (which, duh), have just expressed my eternal love to you in front of 100+ people, and have a photographer standing by to capture every moment, be it endearing or embarassing, there is no effing way you are doing anything with that cake other than sweetly feed it to me with a fork. Like a civilized human being.

I have, of course, made this clear to my husband-to-be, but just to be extra sure, I will be sending him the link to this post immediately.

Am I way off base here? Feel free to call me out.

2 Responses to “wtf wedding traditions: the cake smash”

  1. cookiemomma February 29, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    I’m so with you on that one!!

    • Ann Dalee April 16, 2012 at 4:46 am #

      100% agree. Marisa and Jane both refused to partake in this “tradition” at their weddings.

Leave a Reply

