summer favorites

20 Jun

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”

― F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

In honor of today’s Summer Solstice, I have compiled a list of a few of my favorite things about summer. They are, in no particular order:

Dining al fresco.

 

Food just tastes better when eaten in fresh air. Drinks, more refreshing. Company, livelier. Whether it’s a restaurant patio, friend’s backyard deck, or picnic in the park, it is always exactly where I want to be at that moment.

The perfect temperature.

There are a couple evenings a summer when I notice that it’s neither warm nor chilly, but the absolute perfect temperature – comfortable and almost nonexistent. I may have to start carrying a thermometer around with me so I can tell you definitively what this temp is, but for now, just pay attention. You’ll know it when you (don’t) feel it.

A cabin on a lake

Preferably in Northern Wisconsin. Both my and Tyler’s families spend a week up north, so we have double the chances to indulge in the north woods (though this summer we may be 0 for 2).

Farm fresh produce

Is there anything more delicious than a fresh tomato? I really don’t think so. Except maybe that fresh tomato in a caprese salad.

Crisp white wine

I am a red wine drinker by and large, but when it’s hot out, I switch to white. So refreshing, and perfect for the aforementioned outdoor dining.

Leave a Reply

