Eugene bucket list

13 Jul

As our time in Oregon winds down, I am making a list of the things I want to do before we leave! Some are new, some repeats, but for the next two and a half weeks, I’m going to try and cross as many of these items off my list as I can.

Oregon Country Fair

Not to be confused with a county fair. This uniquely Eugene event combines food, drinks, music, and naked hippies. Basically all my favorite things. We are planning on going tomorrow. I’ll report back and try to snap some non-graphic photos.

Wine tasting

We’ve consumed our fair share of Oregon vino, but I want to take full advantage of wine country being a 30 minute drive away while we still can! I will be consulting this list for all upcoming activities in the area.

Hideaway Bakery’s Tuesday pizza nights

During our first week in Eugene last summer we stumbled upon this little gem. On Tuesday nights in the summer Hideaway fires up the wood burning oven in the parking lot and serves up delicious pizzas. There is live music and kids dancing and it’s just a really fun atmosphere.

Voodoo Donuts

I don’t even like donuts that much, but we can’t leave Oregon without partaking one last time. My favorite is the Portland Cream. Tyler is partial to the Old Dirty Bastard. Milk is a must.

Brewery tour/tasting

What kind of beer drinking Wisconsinite would I be if I didn’t take full advantage of the local brews readily available to me? Both Ninkasi and Oakshire are located here in Eugene and will tide me over until I can get my hands on a Spotted Cow.

Spencer’s Butte

Not a lot of mountain-esque hikes to be had in the Midwest. I love hiking Spencer’s because it starts out in the tall pines and feels very Oregon-y, and it ends with a great view over the city. Bonus – If you go in the evening you can catch a nice contact high from those who like to end a workout by lighting one up.

More than anything, I want to spend what little time we have left in Oregon with the great friends we’ve made! So if you’re interested in joining in any/all of the above activities, just let me know.

One Response to “Eugene bucket list”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday links « Whitbull - July 20, 2012

    […] weekend we are continuing to cross items off the Eugene bucket list. Next up: LaVelle Vineyard’s Friday Night Flights and a Eugene Emeralds game. Hope you have […]

Leave a Reply

