road trip | the music

26 Jul

Undoubtedly one of the most important parts of a successful road trip is the music. But selecting songs for the road trip mix isn’t as easy as it seems. It’s got to match your surroundings and the overall mood. I mean, you can’t listen to Lady Gaga while driving through the mountains. It just doesn’t fit (and it would make me really nervous!). (You can, however, listen to Johnny Cash anywhere. It’s just like the rules of the road or something.)

I am starting to build a playlist for our upcoming trip eastward and am looking for recommendations. Hit me up in the comments with your favorite driving tunes.

Here are a few of my favs that have made the list thus far:

John Denver – Take Me Home, Country Roads

The B-52s – Roam (I think Tyler may hate this song. Too damn bad, I love it!)

The Proclaimers – I’m Gonne Be (500 Miles)

Phantom Planet – California (This will probably play at least 5 times as we drive down the 101 to San Francisco!)

 
One Response to “road trip | the music”

  1. Libby July 27, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Don’t forget the regional remixes of “Teach me how to Dougie” and “Black and Yellow” when you finally reach Wisconsin!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

